Gates Automotive Service

Family Owned and Operated Since 1952

Call Us at (502) 458-9404 Hours: Mon. 7:30AM - 5:00PM
Tue. 7:30AM - 5:00PM
Wed. 7:30AM - 5:00PM
Thu. 7:30AM - 5:00PM
Fri. 7:30AM - 5:00PM
Sat. Closed      
Sun. Closed      
Hours:
M-F 7:30AM - 5:00PM
picture of our logo
picture of our logo

Reviews

Stars

6/28/2018

Look...no one loves needing to get their car repaired. But Gates makes it as painless as possible. And I can't express how much I appreciate them!

Last summer, after a few futile efforts to 'repair' my car's air conditioning with freon recharges...it was distressingly discovered that the evaporator core was the piece at fault. The labor to perform this kind of repair, at least for the car I have, is extensive. I got one quote that told me it would cost $1500 and take two weeks. Before I blindly signed off on that, I decided to call around and get some other quotes.

Gates was not the least expensive. It was squarely in the middle of all the quotes, and on par with the quoted timeline. But they were within walking distance of my home and general hanging-out-area, and the convenience to my daily life during the repair time was key in my selection of service providers. But they have earned my love and loyalty. I haven't needed any repairs since this one...but I have recommended them and would return in a heartbeat!

Anyway, when I called to schedule dropping off my car and beginning repairs, I was pretty certain what was wrong. After dropping it off, they called a few hours later to confirm that their initial inspection of the car matched up with what I had told them, so the quote would stand as it was delivered. No surprise charges and no surprise extra problems! I gave them the go ahead to start the work on my car.

The repair was supposed to take about 5 days, and I needed to drive to Wisconsin for the end of that, so I asked that should it be completed while I was out of town, would it be an issue to pick my car up a couple days later. They replied that was no problem. \ After finding out about my travel plans and that I would be renting a car for a week, they mentioned that if it was possible they would try to complete the repair before my departure. No promises, but I appreciated the care they had to make my life a little easier and more affordable during a time of stress and inconvenience. They said they would call before 4pm that Friday, a couple hours before I intended to leave.

And dudes...THEY FOLLOWED THROUGH. I did not expect it and was fine, resigned to having a rental car for my trip, as long as my car was fixed a ready when I got back. But they called me shortly after lunch, 3.5 days after dropping my car off for the repair to be started, to say they would be done by 5pm and I could come get my car! I was floored! Ecstatic! Over the moon! \ Sure, I had just forked over almost $1000 and my wallet was weeping. But my car was fixed, blowing out chilly air for the first time in months, and they saved me about $80 by allowing me to return that rental car 4 days early!

Gates went above and beyond in the area of customer service!

I could not say better things about my auto repair experience! And I never really thought I would even HAVE good things to say about such a routinely frustrating necessity. I honestly hope I don't need their services much going forward, but if I do...I know they are there for me!

Kathy  V.

Stars

3/30/2018

Excellent, honest service. They tell you exactly what is going on with your vehicle and how much it would cost. They are incredibly fair with prices, and I plan on using them for any car repairs in the future. Seriously, give this guy your business - he deserves it!

Anna  D.

Stars

3/17/2018

Always very helpful and Gates Chevron. I have known David Gates the owner since 1978. Graduated say next class 82. He took the business over from his father who was also a great mechanic. I took my van in thought the problem was a bad condenser which would have cost about $1,000. David found the real problem, a heating coil. The cost only 360. Gates Chevron is a business you can trust.

Joe  C.

Stars

3/15/2018

The guys at Gates Automotive go above and beyond what is expected. I explained to them that I was getting a low tire light even though my tires were up to pressure. They quickly determined that one of my TPMS sensors had gone bad, and replaced it. I also had mentioned that I had a super slow leak in another tire that others couldn’t find. They found it and were able to fix this as well. I was very impressed by their professionalism, and how upfront they were about everything.

Brian  S.

Stars

3/05/2018

I have lived in Louisville since 70s, moved away in 89 and returned in 2015. Gates had always been located at this location and always looked busy but I was usually going to dealership. After too many problems and excuses and worked not done properly by "non- mechanics", I decided to try Gates.

Unlike a dealership, when I called last week because "Engine light flashing", the mechanic answered the phone and actually helped with a presumed problem. This is akin to calling an attorney or physician and for no charge getting help, before even seeing a patient or client.

I Dropped of vehicle; it ended up being a misfire( as he suspected), they changed out spark plugs and everything working! The entire process was straight forward.

I was so impressed that I am giving them all my business!

Herman  P.

Stars

1/19/2018

Excellent communication and very caring -they listen and then let you know options. They will treat you with respect.

Lisa  C.

Stars

12/31/2017

These guys are great. Professional and polite, they took on my basket case of a car, test drove it several miles, and sorted through about a dozen error codes that were coming up on the computer. Best garage in the city.

Robert  P.

Stars

12/29/2017

I took my car in to get a 60k mile service and a new battery and they're so nice and priced fairly! The best part was when the mechanic called and told me that he wouldn't tell me to get a service that he wouldn't recommend that his mom gets. It's so so so refreshing to go in and not feel like you're being up sold or recommended unneeded services!

Cassidy  C.

Stars

12/6/2017

I always go to Gates. I trust them completely. They are never dishonest with you or try to talk you into anything you don't need.

Colleen  C.

Stars

8/29/2017

Gates always does a great job at a reasonable price. I just wish that they were open on weekends!

Fallon  C.

Stars

8/2/2017

Great Business. David, Rob, and all the guys are first class. Very professional and knowlegable. I drive from Oldham County... cause their that good.

Todd  H.

Stars

6/28/2017

I can't say enough good things about Gates. They are the only mechanics I've ever been to that didn't treat me differently just because I'm a woman that is clueless about cars. The service was fair, they kept me very well informed about the repairs my car needed, and even checked to see if there was a factory recall on my vehicle so I didn't need to spend more money unnecessarily. They are the only mechanics I will ever use while in Louisville. Honest, trustworthy, good people. If I could give them more stars I would. Highly, highly recommend.

Violet  D.

Stars

6/27/2017

HOLY SMOKES. THIS PLACE.

Okay, to make a long story short, I needed a patch ASAP on one of my tires, and had my lunch hour to try and accomplish this (and one of my co-workers raving about how awesome this place is!). I called ahead, and one of the wonderful staff members notified me they could path my tire within 20 minutes. Thankfully, I work right down the road and quickly got over there, feeling so elated I could take care of this!

Upon arrival, I was greeted very nicely and quickly one of the staff members (wish I caught his name!) helped me. He quickly found the tire that had the leak in it, and got the screw out and patched it up. He was honest with me, and told me that it wasn't 100% guaranteed with the patch, due to the angle of the screw. He told me further that chances are high though it will hold and work, if not, he notified me I may need a replacement tire (which they could also help with, if it does come to that!). I loved how straight forward and honest he was. Truly, I never really get that kind of experience at a car mechanic! Especially other places try and find "other problems" with your car, even though you came there for one thing...

Best part about this experience? He did it all in 10 minutes. Yup. Thorough inspection, finding the problem, solving said problem and all for $15?! I was just stunned! I left one happy customer, and I know that if I do end up needing a replacement tire, I will be coming back here!

Lindsey  S.

Stars

5/17/2017

Solid crew. After taking a look at the glowing yelp reviews, decided to try them out. They were upfront and honest about whether they could give me the best deal on service for my car--in this special case they couldn't, but this car ain't worth getting it fixed anyway. I will definitely bring my future cars to them first. I wish I had more to put in this review, but so far I haven't brought them a car worth fixing!

Dennis  F.

Stars

4/20/2017

This is a great place with reasonable rates and a knowledgeable staff.

Anne  S.

Stars

4/5/2017

I have taken my car there on multiple occasions and always leave feeling very comfortable and confident with their services!! A GREAT bunch of guys, I will never take my car anywhere else!

Melodie Joy  U.

Stars

3/8/2017

Just visited because I needed a tire plugged and relied and prior positive Yelp reviews. No one tried to tell me I needed a new tire, the price was fair at $20, and the owner came out to say hello and introduce himself. I'll be back when needed.

Michael  M.

Stars

2/17/2017

Gates was recommended to me by a friend some years ago. I think it's difficult to find a mechanic that is both good and honest; but she swore by them, so I gave them a try. I'm glad I did.

Gates is a small, locally owned shop on Bardstown Rd. In my experience they are quick, honest and not ridiculously expensive.

Since getting a new car a few years ago, I haven't needed Gates for anything but tire repairs -- but when I think I've heard a noise or am paranoid about something, they are always willing to listen. For example -- my engine light is on, all the time -- this concerned me. I went by Gates, they looked it over, did a engine diagnostic and told me it was a sensor in the gas line -- some built in feature that all newer cars have. They said it was nothing major. They could fix it, but it would require flushing out the system and a few hundred bucks. They advised it wasn't anything harmful or necessary really. I appreciated that transparency.

I can also vouch for quick tire repairs. With all the construction around town, my tires are like a super magnet for nails and screws. I've gotten 3 in the last year. Normally I'd call my Dad. He'd jack up my car, take off the tire, do the patch, reattach -- about an hour, and all the hassle. Luckily, my car dealership offers reimbursement for tire repairs during the first 36 months of owning your car. So -- I pay Gates $15; he repairs it in, no joke, about 4 minutes. No removing the tire -- finds the screw, does the tool things, quick patch, air and I'm on my way.

Moral is - I like and trust these guys. Should there ever be a serious car problem, I'd have them look at it first.

Kasen  M.

Stars

6/11/2016

They have been taking care of my vehicles and my father's vehicles for over 30 years. Their good and honest. My favorite example was when my 1996 ford f 250 had a small antifreeze leak. It would have been very expensive to fix. Mechanic Gary suggested to try a stop leak product first. That was over 5 years ago and it still doesn't leak. That kind of honestly is why I keep coming back.

Michael  R.

Stars

4/2/2016

I needed an oxygen sensor extracted when I called them, I had done everything possible to remove it myself, and had already bought the part.

I was calling to see if they could remove it, to my surprise they recommended HI-WAY muffler off Cane Run Rd.

I went those guys did a great job getting it out and even put in the my O2 sensor.

Thanks honesty is a rare commodity today.

Maverick  R.

Stars

1/21/2016

Brought them my Trailblazer to fix a check engine light and also said, "Please check everything, we're taking it on a trip and want it in tip top shape." That's the perfect chance to take advantage of someone who isn't mechanically inclined. When I got the call from Gates they told me the car looked great and gave me an estimate for a small thing that they recommended getting fixed in the future. All around it was a great experience and their prices are more than reasonable. I'll keep taking my cars here as long as we're in Louisville!

Ross  P.

Stars

1/11/2016

Fast work, gave me great information, no pressure. So happy we finally found a nice mechanic :)

Angelina  G.

Stars

12/1/2015

I was a regular at Gates back when my old, beloved Toyota Tercel kept me in and out of the mechanic's bay. I hadn't needed their services for several years after donating the car and moving away in 2011. Today, I found myself back at the garage to show my mom's ride some TLC.

I discovered that she had a break light out, so I called the trusty folks at Gates this morning to get a ballpark estimate. David Gates was very helpful and told me that it'd cost around $10 and that I didn't need an appointment. I pulled into their lot about 45 minutes before closing and someone helped me straight away (& discovered two bulbs out). I would always call first though as this was a minor repair.

After grabbing the replacement parts, the mechanic quickly popped the bulbs in and rang me up. I was in and out in under 20 minutes and for less than $16 (two bulbs pushed the price up a tad).

Gates Automotive did extensive work on my Toyoya and I always felt that they were honest, fair, and speedy. I can't praise them enough! The service I received for many years continues today and I would recommend them, to anyone and everyone who lives or works in the Highlands corridor. Great people doing quality work at a good price. Can't beat it!

Leslie  W.

Stars

11/2/2015

Great Service, Place, & People! The Staff certainly takes away the stress when you come to them with a sick vehicle. Very simple to make an appt/get in. Mechanics have a great way of explaining diagnostics so that anyone can have a better understanding as to what is necessary; very straight forward. Staying Affordable is the added cherry to the cake. Will recommend to everyone I know!

Elizabeth Ann  C.

Stars

11/18/2015

They are fantastic. I trust them, my bill is always fair, and I get fast & friendly service. They are my go-to!

Jen  W.

Stars

10/16/2015

Nearly two years ago I started having a problem where my gas tank was rejecting fuel. I took my car to the dealership to have it repaired. Three visits and nearly $1,200 later, the problem still wasn't fixed.

A few weeks ago I decided I couldn't deal with the problem any longer and went to Yelp to find a new mechanic. I saw Gates had good reviews and it was close to my home so I made an appointment. They took their time and did plenty of research and troubleshooting to make sure they were actually fixing the problem and not just throwing parts and money at it. After just one visit and only $350, they FIXED my gas tank. 100%.

I could not be more pleased with Gates. I've definitely found my new mechanic and will be back in the future.

Sam  H.

Stars

9/16/2015

Great shop. I've been to dozens of shops in the past and I can say it's rare to find a mechanic that is legitimately trying to help you fix a problem, not just trying to get a sale. Robert was the mechanic who worked on my truck and all I can say is I'm very happy with my experience. He was patient, diagnosed the problem quickly, and didn't charge me for some simple fixes he could have charged me for. Not to mention their rates are good. If you're considering Gates I highly recommend going to see Robert.

Mr.  Chi

Stars

9/16/2015

We just took our car here and could not be happier. They fixed our car at a very reasonable price. When we went to pick up our car we had a couple questions about other issues on the car and they took the time to show us the issues and what we could do to fix them. I'm never going to a different auto shop in Louisville! I highly recommend them!

Keith  G.

Stars

9/5/2015

Let me start by saying I dread needing a mechanic because I just don't know enough about cars to know if what the mechanic tells me is true or completely a lie. I really need to learn more about cars but well...that is not very interesting to me.

So, I've been to a few mechanics around Louisville and I know for sure at least one was ripping me off every time I brought it in. Finally, after seeing some good reviews, I took my car to Gates in 2013. I've taken my car there three times and have been satisfied every time. I really believe they are honest and straightforward. In fact, one time, they told me that what another mechanic had told me was probably not the case. They asked if they could try rotating the tires to see if that fixed it first and if not, they would try something more extensive. Thankfully, that did fix it and I only spent 30 dollars.

I also like that Gates is a local businesses in my neighborhood. I can drop my car off and walk home which is pretty convenient. After a search for a mechanic, I've found the one I want to stick with.

Andrea  B.

Stars

9/3/2015

Gates auto is awesome. Shout out to Rob who hooked us up after a flat at the beginning of a road trip. He gave us 20 minutes of Sherlock Holmes-style inspection and wouldn't take a dime. Thanks and I'll be back.

Andy  C.

Stars

8/7/2015

I've been using Gates Automotive for close to 17 years now, 10+ cars later, from domestics to rare imports, they've always taken care of me. Honest, knowledgable and fair pricing are 3 things that you don't usually find in a shop, and it's precisely why I continue to take all of my vehicles there.

Brian Taylor  C.

Stars

7/21/2015

Gates Automotive definitely represents integrity on every level. My mechanic, Jeremy, was fantastic, and due to an unexpected additional part that needed to be repaired (on top of $1000+ in repairs already) he ended up giving us a really great deal, which he definitely didn't have to do. He was also extremely knowledgeable and clearly has a deep passion for fixing cars, which reassured me that my car was in good hands.

The only reason I didn't give Gates a full 5 stars is due to their lack of communication. I brought my car in on a Monday morning (scheduled appt a week in advance) and had to call Tuesday afternoon about the diagnosis. I then had to call a few more times throughout the week to see what was going on.

There was also a fuse issue that ended up coming back again about 20 mins after we left, but the issue is very uncommon and extremely difficult to solve by someone who’s not specifically in electronics.

I firmly believe that both of the above issues were due to having too many customers, and not enough time to inspect my car. As a service provider myself, I know exactly what that's like, and if anything, their over flux of business just shows that they're in high demand - which is likely due to their fantastic reputation.

Overall, I'd highly recommend Gates for standard mechanical issues. However if you've got a huge mess on your hands (like I did) just know that it's gonna take a while.

Brandy  S.

Stars

6/25/2015

The staff at Gates Automotive are consistent, fair and congenial. I have had multiple vehicles serviced there, as well as other members of my family, over the years and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend, conveniently located and trusted. A Highlands landmark for decades!

Martin  Y.

Stars

5/13/2015

David is honest and trustworthy! I would take my car to his shop if I didnt do all my own work lol.

Brad  F.

Stars

5/6/2015

Honest and very informative. David explains in a way the everyday person will understand. Gates Automotive will continue to have my business in the future.

Kelley  E.

Stars

5/6/2015

I highly recommend Gates Automotive, their work is spot on and at the right price. Super nice shop and a great location too!!

Brian  A.

Stars

4/14/2015

I was steered toward Gates Automotive because of its Yelp reviews, and I can say that they didn't let me down.

As many of the other reviews have said, it can be hard to find a good mechanic -- not that mechanics are inherently bad, but there is such a knowledge gap between us lay-car-people and the folks who really know how to make our cars go. So along with being good under the hood, the mark of a great mechanic includes instilling trust and having good communication about what needs to be done to get our wheels on the road again.

And Gates Automotive fulfills these.

I've now been to Gates twice in the past month or so for two separate issues. Gunter, my VW Jetta, first was afflicted with brake lights that would not turn off, even when the car was not running. And then my rear tire became flatter than a pancake smushed under the wheel of a steamroller in a paper factory.

In both instances, Gates could get me in sooner than any of the other mechanics I called. I think at most I had to wait two days to have it looked at, and that's only because it was over a weekend. And they got my car back to me within a day and for a decent price.

With the tire, they even called me back to say they had found a cheaper tire that was still good quality than the tire they originally quoted me. So they were going to knock some money off the price of the repair.

Gates is also close to my home in The Highlands, which is a big plus. I'm able to drop off my car and walk back to my house.

And the guy at the desk was able to direct me to some specialists who could address Gunter's other issues, including a missing hubcap and a ceiling liner that's falling down. (Gunter is in need of some TLC.)

But at least I know that at Gates, Gunter is in good hands.

Emily  H.

Stars

4/2/2015

I don't know why it's taken me so long to write a review for Gates. But here it is: they are straightforward, friendly and timely with my repairs.

We have used Gates as our go-to mechanic for 4-5 yrs now. I find them to be a trustworthy shop. They will tell me what I need and more importantly, not need for my cars. A couple of years ago, I took my car to one of those oil change/tire change or a quick oil change and got this diagnosis: your car needs new shocks and struts: $1100; you also need new tires: $1200. I did not trust their answer for such a big bill. I took my car to Gates for a second opinion. What they found is that my car was riding bumpy only because I needed new tires. I did NOT need new shocks and struts. Gates gave me a detailed breakdown of the tires suitable for my car. I was able to get a nice set of new tires for $625 from Gates. That was more than 25K miles ago. My car is running smoothly, and still has no problems with its shocks or struts!!

Another built-in bonus with Gates: they are on the bus route! I am so glad to be able to drop off and pick up my car without needing rides.

Kelly  Y.

Stars

12/29/2014

I've had a wide array of vehicles that have all been serviced with Gates Automotive at one time or another. Fords, Saabs, Land Rovers and Volvos, I've always received prompt assistance and impeccable service, at a very reasonable price. I'm often skeptical when it comes to the detail in workmanship from both dealer and non-dealer service centers alike. However, I've never been disappointed and / or less-than-satisfied with the work that Gates Automotive performs. I guarantee you'll share the same sentiment after your service as well.

Derek  J.

Stars

12/9/2014

I have found TRUE mechanics at Gates Automotive!!! They do not get anymore honest! I swear by them! Please tell all women that if they want an honest estimate just ask for David! They saved my life by finding something wrong that could have caused a very dangerous accident-and they showed me the part that they replaced! I can't say enough! Just TRUST ME!!!

Marge  W.

Stars

12/5/2014

My grandfather once told me to that once you find a mechanic you can trust, stick by him and never look back.

It was very specific and strange advice for an eight year old to get, but something I've taken to heart over the years. And Gates Automotive is truly one of the best locally-owned family-run neighborhood car places I've seen in years.

They are straight forward, honest and helpful on all repairs big and small They can get a bit backed up so if you need something lickety-split, this may not be the place for you. But their prices are fair and they've been in business since like 1832 or something crazy for a car place, so they have a longstanding reputation and customer place.

In short: Gates is a fantastic place to take your car.

Phil  K.

Stars

1/2/2014

After three previous failed experiences with other mechanic shops, Gates Automotive resolved my Jeep's electrical issue. The mechanic described the issue, presented my options, and provided a schedule of how soon I should expect to be back on the road. I'm hopeful my Jeep will not have other problems, but I will make a beeline to Gates Automotive, if it does. Thank you!

Deenie  E.

Stars

11/22/2013

Always excellent service when I go to Gates, but this last time was even better. I had a flat tire fixed a couple weeks ago. The tire went flat again today so I took it back thinking it might be a bad plug or something. It turned out to be a different hole all together. They fixed it for free anyway on the spot. You just don't get that kind of service anymore. I am glad they are in my neighborhood. Thanks guys.

Charles  A.

Stars

10/15/2013

I've been to Gates at least half a dozen times between our two vehicles (Honda & BMW). They are always up front and honest about repairs. I never get the feeling they are just trying to create work to make a buck, I think their customer base is so solid they don't need to do that, which says a lot. They are always very communicative and call before they do anything after they've assessed the problem. Being a woman, I feel like they treat me the same as they would any customer, which is nice because I've had the alternative treatment at many other automotive places. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

V.  Buccola

Stars

6/24/2013

Gates Automotive provides the highest level of quality service at reasonable prices. This is a multi-generational family owned-business that is truly trustworthy.

Shawn  W.

Stars

6/12/2013

I've taken my Acura here a few times now - some minor to serious work. I've been satisfied every time. I concur with the other reviews - these guys are friendly, reasonable and straightforward. Pricing is also on par with other shops that I've heard about, but being in the Highlands, it's super convenient.

Ask for Lane for Honda/Acura.

Mark  W.

Stars

1/23/2013

I will vouch for these guys. Quality service at reasonable prices. I even rolled in one time with a tire that needed a plug and the guy dropped what he was doing which I am sure was a lot more profitable and plugged my tire. Four minutes and a couple of bucks later I was back on the road. I will always take my truck to them even for simple stuff like an oil change since the Jipppy Lube folks are too busy trying to sell you up to remember to put the drain plug back in!

Arf  O.

Stars

10/04/2012

I worked for these guys while I was in college and it was still a Chevron station. I will never take my car anywhere else as long as I'm in Louisville. They're extremely friendly, honest and reasonable. They work on all makes and models and typically you can get your car back the same day. The only time I've had to wait longer was if the part had to be factory and couldn't be ordered through the local auto-parts shop they use.

Gina  W.

Stars

10/17/2011

Recommended to me by a coworker and she was dead on. I had been told by a few different shops (1 in AL that first looked at it and then 3 here in town that I called) that my AC went out because I needed a new compressor. The shop in AL had done a flush and fill and that wasn't the problem so they and everyone agreed that's what it was and gave me quotes. The quotes ranged from about $700-$1100, so I was calling around to get the cheapest!

When I called the guy at Gates, he told me it might be a couple other things and not the compressor at all. So, I gladly brought it in the next morning. But lunch they had looked at it and were pretty sure it had to do with the electronics (which is apparently common in VW). Another point worth making, some mechanics don't work on VW and these guys do, and well. So they fixed a bunch of wiring and such, and my grand total was like 100 bucks. And now my temp gauges and the things on the dash all work. Being a young female, I often get yanked around, spoken to like I'm stupid, etc. I can honestly say, this is the best experience I have ever had with a car shop. Couldn't recommend them more.

Rachel  F.

Stars

1/14/2011

This place has always been really good to me. The mechanics respect older cars and take good care of them and their drivers. It's always a little nerve-wracking to try to find a mechanic when I move to a new city, but this one I got right on the first try--these guys are honest, responsible, and good at what they do!

Lenore  H.

Home